Skip to main content

Music

Accessing Library Resources from Off Campus

Most of the resources listed on this page can be accessed from off-campus, provided you access them through a link in this guide or on the Library's website. If you have questions or need help, please email me or make a virtual appointment using the buttons on the left. 

Resources for Finding Audio and Video Recordings

Musical Recordings at Wallace Library

Wallace Library has an extensive collection of musical recordings in a variety of formats, including LP, CD, and cassette tape. Materials in this collection do not circulate and must be used in the Library. Ask for LPs, CDs, and tapes at the Information Desk in the Atrium. They can also help you find the right listening equipment. 

To find recordings in our collection, use the Advanced Search screen of the Catalog, enter your search terms, then click on the "Format" dropdown and select "music recording."

You can also browse our collection of sound recordings (sorted by date, most recent first).

Streaming Music at Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has an extensive collection of streaming music. As a student attending a Massachusetts college, you can sign up for a free BPL eCard, which will give you access to all of their online resources. Their collection includes:

Video Recordings at Wallace Library

We have an outstanding selection of videos, in DVD and videocassette formats, including many foreign-language titles and documentaries. Most feature films can be checked out of the Library. Some materials are non-circulating or are placed on reserve and must be viewed in the Library. Ask at the Information Desk in the Atrium for access to DVDs and VHS tapes. They can also help you access viewing facilities and playback equipment. 

To find recordings in our collection, use the Advanced Search screen of the Catalog, enter your search terms, then click on the "Format" dropdown and select "DVD video" or "VHS."

We also subscribe to two streaming services which provide 24/7 access to video both on and off-campus:

Streaming Video at Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has an extensive collection of streaming video. As a student attending a Massachusetts college, you can sign up for a free BPL eCard, which will give you access to all of their online resources. Their collection includes: