Skip to main content

I <3 Libraries!

Finding Music

Wallace library has an extensive collection of music in our collection.  We have Music CDs, LPs, eMusic and Music Cassette.  We also have a large selection of music scores.  

To find Music in our collection, use the Advanced Search screen of the Catalog, enter your search terms, then click on the "Format" dropdown and select “Music.” 

If you are looking for a CD that Wheaton College does not own you can also search local partner institutions in the HELIN Libraries consortium, or search other library collections at Libraries Worldwide by choosing those options on the initial search page or on the results page.

You can request CDs from HELIN libraries from the music's result page. These CDs often arrive within 1-3 days. Click the Request through HELIN button.

You can request CDs from libraries worldwide from the Music's result page, which can take about 1-2 weeks to arrive. Click the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan (7-14 days) button.

CDs are still a thing! Find over 35,000 of them with your Norton Public Library card.

Streaming Music at Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has an extensive collection of streaming music. As a student attending a Massachusetts college, you can sign up for a free BPL eCard, which will give you access to all of their online resources. Their music collections include:

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library's growing collection of 50,000-plus tracks for listening and searching is supplemented by extensive reference materials and backed by a powerful suite of tools designed to support learning.

Contemporary World Music

A music database that offers the streaming of music from all regions of the world. Includes popular music, film scores, and genres of all kinds.

Hoopla

Access contemporary pop music among other genres. You can borrow up to 10 items in a calendar month without any wait times, even for popular titles (they have increased the monthly limit to 12 while they are closed). You do have to create a Hoopla account, but access is free with a BPL ecard. Watch their video tutorials for more information. 

Jazz Music Library

The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Popular Music Library

Popular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music including thousands of tracks from genres including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and more.

Finding Audio Books

Wheaton also has a small collection of audio books. To find Audio books within our collection use the Advanced Search screen of the Catalog, enter your search terms, then click on the "Format" dropdown and select "Audio Books."  If you are looking for an audio book that Wheaton College does not own you can also search local partner institutions in the HELIN Libraries consortium, or search other library collections at Libraries Worldwide by choosing those options on the initial search page or on the results page.

You can request audio books from HELIN libraries from the audio book's result page. These books often arrive within 1-3 days. Click the Request through HELIN button.

You can request audio books from libraries worldwide from the audio book's result page, which can take about 1-2 weeks to arrive. Click the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan (7-14 days) button.

Get an ecard now and receive access to OverDrive, Libby and Hoopla!

Show up at the Norton Public Library within three weeks to keep it active.

Audio Books at Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has an extensive collection of audio books. As a student attending a Massachusetts college, you can sign up for a free BPL eCard, which will give you access to all of their online resources. Their ebook collections include:

OverDrive

Access thousands of audio books through OverDrive on your laptop or on your mobile device with the Libby app. You can find biographies, current events, art, classic reads, fantasy, science fiction, and the latest must-reads. You can search for titles, browse by genre, or look through their many recommendation lists. Check out their video tutorials for more information. Note: There may be long wait periods for popular titles. 

Hoopla

Access thousands of audio books of all genres through the Hoopla website or app. You can borrow up to 10 items in a calendar month without any wait times, even for popular titles (they have increased the monthly limit to 12 while they are closed). You do have to create a Hoopla account, but access is free with a BPL ecard. Watch their video tutorials for more information.