Skip to main content

I <3 Libraries!

Finding DVDs

We have an outstanding selection of videos, in DVD and videocassette formats, including many foreign-language titles and documentaries. Most feature films can be checked out of the Library. Some materials are non-circulating or are placed on reserve and must be viewed in the Library. Ask at the Information Desk in the Atrium for access to DVDs. They can also help you access viewing facilities and playback equipment.

To find DVDs in our collection, use the Advanced Search screen of the Catalog, enter your search terms, then click on the "Format" dropdown and select "DVD video.

If you are looking for a DVD that Wheaton College does not own you can also search local partner institutions in the HELIN Libraries consortium, or search other library collections at Libraries Worldwide by choosing those options on the initial search page or on the results page.

You can request DVDs from HELIN libraries from the dvd's result page. The DVDs often arrive within 1-3 days. Click the Request through HELIN button.

You can request DVDs from libraries worldwide from the dvd’s result page, which can take about 1-2 weeks to arrive. Click the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan (7-14 days) button.

Did you know that you have access to nearly 50,000 DVD titles with your Norton Public Library Card?

Finding Streaming Movies and TV

We also subscribe to two streaming services which provide 24/7 access to video both on and off-campus:

To find Streaming videos in our collection, use the Advanced Search screen of the Catalog, enter your search terms, then click on the "Format" dropdown and select "eVideo." 

Get an ecard now and receive access to OverDrive, Libby and Hoopla!

Show up at the Norton Public Library within three weeks to keep it active.

Streaming Video at Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has an extensive collection of streaming video. As a student attending a Massachusetts college, you can sign up for a free BPL eCard, which will give you access to all of their online resources. For more information on their movie collection, visit the BPL website. Their collection includes:

Kanopy

Kanopy includes acclaimed movies and documentaries on-demand from award-winning filmmakers. Browse the collection of over 30,000 documentaries, classic films, world cinema, popular movies and films for children of all ages. Users can watch up to 4 titles per calendar month. For the duration of our closure, users will be able to watch 8 titles a month. For more information on Kanopy, watch their video tutorials

Hoopla Streaming Media

Movies, TV shows, music, eBooks, and comics for online streaming or download to mobile devices, with no waiting lists. Borrow up to 10 items per calendar month. For the duration of our closure, users can borrow 12 titles per calendar month. For more on Hpppla, watch their video tutorials.