Skip to main content

I <3 Libraries!

Finding Print Books

Leisure Reading at Wallace Library

Wallace Library is full of great reads. We organize our collection to make academic research easier. Unfortunately, this also makes finding leisure reading difficult--particularly if you are not sure what you want to read next or are looking to explore new genres or discover a new favorite author. To help you discover books in our library, we have created a page of recommendations. We will be adding new lists and categories to this page throughout the year, so come back often.

Using the Catalog

You can search for a book (title, author, subject) using the library catalog. For more information on using the catalog, check out our video tutorial. To check out a book, use the "Place Hold" button in the "Check Availability" section of the catalog entry and submit the request form. We will email you when you book is ready for pickup.

If we don't have a book that you are interested in, you can submit an interlibrary loan request and we will get it from another library.

Your Norton Public Library account connects you with the SAILS network and its over 765,000 print titles!

Contactless pickup is available.

You also have access to NoveList, a readers' advisory service that can help you to find your next great read.

Finding eBooks

Leisure Reading at Wallace Library

Wallace Library is full of great reads. We organize our collection to make academic research easier. Unfortunately, this also makes finding leisure reading difficult--particularly if you are not sure what you want to read next or are looking to explore new genres or discover a new favorite author. To help you discover books in our library, we have created a page of recommendations. We will be adding new lists and categories to this page throughout the year, so come back often.

You can search for a book (title, author, subject) using our Library Catalog. On the left-hand column of the results page, check the e-Book box in the "Format" section to limit the results to ebooks. Once you find the ebook that looks interesting, click the green "View eBook" button to access it. To learn more about using the library catalog, check our our video tutorial.

Be aware that the ebook restrictions and availability are different depending on the title and vendor. 

 

Get an ecard now (be sure to go to Norton Public Library within three weeks to keep it active) and receive access to:

OverDrive

Access thousands of ebooks through OverDrive on your laptop or on your mobile device with the Libby app. You can find biographies, current events, art, classic reads, fantasy, science fiction, and the latest must-reads. You can search for titles, browse by genre, or look through their many recommendation lists. 

Hoopla

Access thousands of ebooks of all genres through the Hoopla website or app. You can borrow up to 10 items in a calendar month without any wait times, even for popular titles (they have increased the monthly limit to 12 while they are closed). You do have to create a Hoopla account, but access is free with a NLP ecard.  

eBooks at Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has an extensive collection of ebooks. As a student attending a Massachusetts college, you can sign up for a free BPL eCard, which will give you access to all of their online resources. Their ebook collections include:

OverDrive

Access thousands of ebooks through OverDrive on your laptop or on your mobile device with the Libby app. You can find biographies, current events, art, classic reads, fantasy, science fiction, and the latest must-reads. You can search for titles, browse by genre, or look through their many recommendation lists. Check out their video tutorials for more information. Note: There may be long wait periods for popular titles. 

Hoopla

Access thousands of ebooks of all genres through the Hoopla website or app. You can borrow up to 10 items in a calendar month without any wait times, even for popular titles (they have increased the monthly limit to 12 while they are closed). You do have to create a Hoopla account, but access is free with a BPL ecard. Watch their video tutorials for more information. 

Open Library

Over 100,000 eBooks available for borrowing and reading in-browser or on mobile devices using Adobe Digital Editions. Creation of a free account is required for borrowing.

Latino Literature

Poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays by U.S. writers of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Dominican, Central American, and South American heritage, including previously unpublished and rare materials.

Find Magazines and Newspapers

We subscribe to more than 80 journals and magazines in print, including many popular magazines like:

  • The Economist
  • Harvard Business Review
  • Paris Review
  • Elle
  • Essence
  • Esquire
  • Forbes
  • GQ
  • Vogue
  • New Yorker
  • Sports Illustrated

The latest issues of these magazines can be found in the Periodicals Level near ITSS. They are organized alphabetically by title.

New York Time Subscriptions

Did you know that our students can get free access to the New York Times? First time users need to create an account with your Wheaton email while on campus. For off-campus registration/renewal, log into the VPN to access the Wheaton network.

OverDrive

Even magazines are streaming these days! Check out the selection on OverDrive with your Norton Public Library ecard.

Magazines at Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has an extensive collection of digital magazines. As a student attending a Massachusetts college, you can sign up for a free BPL eCard, which will give you access to all of their online resources. Their collection includes:

RBdigital Magazines

Full-color popular magazines available to stream or download to mobile devices. Most magazines (English, Spanish, Chinese, and Vietnamese) are available with no waiting lists, no checkouts, and no limits. Watch their video tutorial for more information. 

National Geographic Virtual Library

Full reproductions of National Geographic magazine (1888-present) and National Geographic Traveler (2010-present), as well as searchable collections of books, maps, images, and videos.